top of page
Search
  • Erin Riner

Art Journal Post #1


These past two weeks have been one of the most incredible learning experiences for me. I started out feeling a bit overwhelmed given that I did not know anything about the school, the classes that I would be teaching or my daily routine. My prior experience teaching at Thompson Valley High School equipped me well for what I could expect for a typical day in the classroom but nothing could prepare me for the long days that stood before me.


My previous experiences in the high school consisted of two half day schedules with only a couple of into level classes that observed/taught in. The biggest change that I noticed was not only the long hours, but how much each class changed from one another. This semester, I am teaching all upper level courses including Drawing and Painting 2, 3, AP as well as an Into to Ceramics course. This meant that there would be fast transitions between each class as well as a consistent prepared/readiness needed for the day prior to when class began. Being prepared means that I start my day at the High School around 7:30 AM (2 1/2 hrs before my first class) where I make sure that the materials are ready at each of the tables for the students and have the day figured out on what needs to happen.


My mentor teacher, Lisa, has done a wonderful job with making me feel valued. From the moment I got there, she introduced me to the faculty around the school and what the typical day would look like in her classroom. Her high expectations in regards to being professional and unique/engaging instructional material gave me insight to how her and the department runs their classroom. Out of all of the classrooms that I've been in, Lisa by far is the most incredible teacher I've been fortunate enough to work with. She values the concept of being a team which means that I have say in what lessons will be taught throughout the 8 weeks.


In the beginning, I first learned the value of creating authentic learning material for the students. Every semester we are gifted with a new group of students which means that they are different and unique from the class before. Knowing your students and creating relationships with them enables us to make specific lessons shaped around them. Previous teachers I've observed from or even been a student with have utilized the same lesson plans over the years which differs from this new experience I've encountered where we individualize each lesson. Coming up with new ideas creates an exiting and authentic experience for both me as the teacher as well as for the students. For each lesson, I create an initial artwork example which helps me figure out the issues the student might encounter while they create. The way in which I am learning to teach follows as such: I create, we create (the demo), the student creates.


This work of art that I created encapsulated this idea where I bring my old experiences and shape them into new ones (hence the dark blue left side of the face emerging into the red side). The more involved and risks I take in the classroom, the more I learn. This idea reflects the artwork media I chose to use which was created by using my IPad (something that I've never done before). I was a bit nervous in the beginning with not knowing the schedule, the kids, and the daily routine. But this all has changed with time. As I grow more comfortable with the classroom, the more risks I take. For example, last week I gave my first two demonstrations which allowed me the opportunity to step foot in front of the classroom. I taught the students how to make their own sketchbook as well as give a watercolor techniques demo.


After my watercolor demonstration, my mentor teacher, Lisa, asked how I thought I did. I responded that I honestly thought I didn't do well because I forgot one of the techniques. She replied that forgetting something happens all the time when you teach, especially when you cover a lot of material as well as when you teach for the first time. She thereafter praised how I engaged the students in a conversation by asking them questions throughout the demo with how certain techniques would react with others. She followed up with how I did not come across as nervous and presented myself with confidence in the material and instruction.


Reflecting on these past two weeks have made me realize that I am my hardest critique and need to take a deep breath and realize that I am just in the beginning stages of my teaching career. I am so excited to be teaching that sometimes I forgot that it's ok to make mistakes and the only way to learn is by trying. As of now, I know my routine/ expectations from my students and mentor teacher.


Next week, I will be introducing oil paint to my Drawing and Painting 3 students which will turn into a really cool "Bonescapes" painting. This lesson will begin with the students learning the fundamentals to traditional grisaille, indirect and direct painting methods while incorporating personal bone still lives at each of their tables. After the students complete these technical exercises, they will begin their final oil painting. The final painting to this oil unit will involve the use of bones but with a surrealist twist to it. The students will have the option of painting from observation or using the bones as a foundation to which their imagination can flourish.


Each day at Eaglecrest is a new day filled with unexpected learning experiences. I am learning how to be a leader and a learner and cannot wait for the weeks to come.






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page