top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • eriner401204

Entry #12 #Mirrored 11/18/2019

The 10 new things that I would add to my teaching philosophy include the following:

1. Relationships

2. Admitting to your mistakes

3. Open mindfulness in where your classroom will take you

4. Respecting your students

5. Treating your students the same

6. Receiving criticism and learning from it

7. Understanding and implementing classroom management

8. Clarity in your instructions

9. Importance of time management

10. Accommodation for the variety of students needs and abilities


New teaching philosophy:

As a teacher, I want to inspire students to discover their full potential through a fun and effective way. This means understanding the importance of relationship building, addmitting to your mistakes, treating your students equal, and giving clear instructions. I want to create a healthy and fun classroom environment that is welcoming to everyone which is created by respecting your students and knowing when you fail. As a teacher, one must understand that it is crucial that your students see that you are not perfect which will in turn help them overcome their own struggles in the classroom. It’s important that students understand that they are creative and unique in their own individual way.

These new additions different from my past philosophy because they are more authentic and bring along the ideas that I gained from the teaching experiences as well as the reflections that I have made throughout my time at Beattie Elementary School. The one thing that did not change in my teaching philosophy was the idea of respect. I have always carried that concept throughout my teaching whether it be in the classroom or prior to when I was a student. Mutual respect created the fundamental grounds to what you build your classroom environment from.

The piece that I made for this entry is a self portrait of myself that incorporates the idea of knowledge. The way that I situate myself is in a front, conformational view of the comfortability i feel as of now in the classroom, contrary to what I felt in the beginning.

For this work, I decided to create a black and while image of myself to show that there is still more to learn and colors to be added to my palette. I do however have the one stroke of blue on the side of my face to represent some of the knowledge that I have gained, however the openness to new colors and experiences that will come with further teaching.




3 views0 comments
bottom of page