top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • eriner401204

Entry# 2 : #MindBlowing 9/9/2019

While considering a choice based classroom, we can see the effects first hand in how much the students become engaged in their artwork. Students at Beattie were able to elaborate on each of their own drawings, making them 100% their own art piece that they felt attached and accomplished with. This teaching experience has validated all my feelings about being an art teacher. What I realized was how much I care for the students, even though I have only seen them once. I want to get to know them on a personal level and I make that a priority. I got to know the students by asking them what their favorite activity was and of course, the conversations flourished. I realized that the more I talk and get to know my students, the more I can help assist them with their artwork and ideation process.  This event honestly just makes me super excited to teach and have my own classroom. Its also so exciting but at the same time overwhelming because I am just getting started.

The drawing that I made for this week deals with the happiness but also nervousness that I felt. I made my drawing colorful yet slightly anxious with the ball coming out of the head because I feel that I still have a lot to learn. I experienced my first student who screamed randomly in the middle of class along with two girls who went to the principals office. This entire experience is exciting for me but also nothing that I could have every thought would be like. To me, everything comes alive in the classroom much more than what I could have ever expected to be like by learning in my own classes on how to teach.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page